Reviews

2016 Reviews

wp_20160506_001

JUNE 2016

‘Thank you so much for this beautiful stay in Kefalonia! We were a large group of 12, but the Walnut Tree House managed to accommodate us perfectly. The beds are comfortable, even the extra 2 sofa beds are reasonable and there are enough bathrooms and toilets. The highlight however is the kitchen (both of them!) and its equipment. I have never rented a house that well equipped! There is nothing missing, pots and pans to cook and feed 12 hungry mouths! The bbq area works great as well, and thanks to the beautiful seating area we spent cosy nights outside (mosquitos though, you want to bring some repellent). The garden and the pool are simply beautiful and so peaceful. We even had some homegrown fruit and vegetables! Celia was very accommodating for our complicated travel arrangements, some of us had to leave earlier etc. Communication was easy and no question remained unanswered. On site, Spyros was friendly, approachable and always happy to help. He reserved us a table at his in-laws restaurant, Zervati, which has a beautiful garden and excellent food and service! I would definitely recommend to rent a car once you are in Kefalonia, as you can discover everything the island has to offer in less than an hour from Sami. Hence, the location of The Walnut Tree is perfect, also Sami is a very nice place to go for a quick gyros or some nice seabass. I can only recommend the Walnut Tree House for a stay in Kefalonia, especially for a larger group of friends or family as there is enough room for everyone to do their own thing during the day, but equally it is possible to sit everyone around one table for dinner! Thank you for having us!’

JULY 2016

‘Our second stay at The Walnut Tree in as many years. We absolutely love it there. It really is a fabulous house, with everything you could possibly need, from lovely swimming pool, air conditioned bedrooms, great BBQ area, pro boules pitch, ping pong table, the list goes on and on, but the beautiful garden is the icing on the cake. Lying out on the sun loungers after dark, spotting shooting stars is also magical!
The location is great – just a short drive from everything you could need in the charming and quiet small town of Sami – and many great beaches.
The taverna at Agia Paraskevi through Karavomilos, on the road to Agia Effimia is one of our all time favourite places to go for lunch.
Can’t wait to go back again!’

JULY/AUGUST 2016

‘From the time we booked the villa Celia could not have been more helpful. She was extremely pleasant to talk to & went over & above to ensure that our stay in the Walnut Tree was perfect. The villa is everything & more that Celia says it is. There was nothing more we needed or could have asked for.It was spotlessly clean & beautifully decorated. The outside gardens were so pretty & well kept. The swimming pool was perfect for the grandchildren as it had a shallow end perfect for their ages 2 -5. They used to watch the bats dive bombing the pool at dusk.It is also a perfect location & within an hour’s driving of most places or less. Sami is literally a 5minute drive where there are a few supermarkets & an abundance of restaurants & coffee shops. Whilst the supermarkets stocked most things we found it much cheaper to shop at Lidls in Argostole about 3/4 hour away, we combined the shopping trip with a trip into the town to see the turtles that swim around the fishing boats there, an amazing site,followed by a coffee in one of the seafront restaurants & then a quick shop on the way home. It was a family vacation plus our youngest son’s wedding in nearby Assos. Can I just say if anyone is considering a wedding abroad I can’t recommend Assos highly enough. It was a truly magical day, perfect from start to finish. Greece is so picturesque & the people so friendly, don’t think I’ll ever see another wedding like it! We didn’t get to see all the island which is probably Celia’s fault because the villa was sooooo beautiful we couldn’t drag everyone away from it, but we will definitely return.Before I finish I also have to mention Spyros who met us & showed us around the villa on the first day there. He was a lovely man & gave us lots of advice on where we should go whilst there & helped us out by replacing a buggy for our youngest grandchild as it had been damaged by the baggage handlers…..he replaced it within half an of being there! I could go on & on but may bore you, all I can say is if you are considering renting this villa do it, don’t hesitate because someone else might get it before you & then you’ll have missed out on a wonderful experience. Thank you so much again Celia for making our holiday/wedding week an amazing one & giving us some special memories. We would love to return one day…….you never know they might re-new their vows out there!!’

AUGUST 2016

Stunning, Beautiful, Relaxing Villa

‘It was our second visit to The Walnut Tree after loving it so much last year. The Walnut Tree is the most idyllic, beautiful, clean, spacious villa, suitable for a large family. We actually cannot find any fault with it and can recommend it completely to anyone wanting to visit the gorgeous island of Kefalonia.’

SEPTEMBER 2016

‘Paradise on earth!

A lovely well equiped house in a beautiful surrouding. We stayed here with nine people and there was space enough for us all. Flowers, wine, bread and fruit made us feel very welcome. The nice and clean swimming poule was great. There were bikes and a table tennis which was great fun. If you want a special holiday: go to the Walnut Tree!’

  2015  Reviews 

WP_20151022_022

AUGUST  2015 (2nd fortnight)

‘I cannot tell you what a wonderful time we had.  Firstly, your villa is simply amazing and had everything anyone could possibly need.  The location is stunning and I could never tire from that amazing view by the pool.  Such a beautiful, relaxing place to be with so much room for our entire family and of course the bbq, table tennis table and boule court were very well used by us all.  We felt incredibly envious of you having such a gorgeous home out there – we were particularly interested in looking at the photos of when the villa was built as it was unrecognisable from how it is now!!  How brave you were to undergo such a huge project … but gosh, how worth it!  We all absolutely loved it all and of course, the set up with the separate apartment above, was ideal for our family as it gave the teenagers their own little space.  Simply idyllic and a true gem.
Secondly, Kefalonia – Paul and I particularly fell in love with the island and would love to return.  We loved AntiSamos Beach, Sami, Myrtos, the little coves we found and every single restaurant we visited during our stay!  Seeing the turtles at Agastolli was probably the children’s highlight of the holiday – absolutely amazing.  Of course we wrote in the visitors book and hope we will be writing again in it before too long!
I must also say how impressed we were with Spyros, as well as the cleaner who did a superb job.  It was so handy having tips from Spyros as to where we should visit and he sorted out a problem with the water within a couple of hours.  Brilliant and such a lovely man.
Well, as I look out of the window at the pouring rain whilst I am writing this, I am thinking back to our wonderful two weeks holiday and cannot thank you enough for all your kind emails and constant communication and help.  It actually made the world of difference to our holiday.  Once we have drawn breath and made our bank balance a little stronger again, I shall be in touch as we really would like to stay at The Walnut Tree again in the future.’

AUGUST 2015 (1st fortnight)

‘We all had a wonderful holiday and everything went perfectly. On behalf of all 11 of us, thank you so much for the loan of your beautiful home for two weeks. It was perfect.

We’re so pleased we decided on the Walnut Tree as our chosen villa as the location was perfect for exploring the island. We visited Katelios, Skala, Fiscardo, Agia-Efimia, saw the turtles at Argostoli, did lots of water sports and snorkelled at Antisamos beach, visited the caves and took a boat trip to Ithaca. We also ate out at lots of lovely tavernas, got lost on a mountain (and met the goats close up!) drank far too much local wine and watched some amazing thunder storms. We also sat and watched the moon appear from behind the mountain on a couple of nights, truly magical….On the days we chose to rest, we chilled out at the villa and relaxed around the wonderful pool. We played scrabble, boules, table tennis, Uno, volleyball in the pool or just read and slept on the sun beds…….Sheer bliss! When we had the energy, we biked to the mini market for ice creams.I’m sure you’ve heard all this before and it’s not really helping me to get over my homecoming blues by reminiscing about our superb holiday but it is delaying me from tackling the washing crisis! Honestly, we had a brilliant family holiday and made some special memories. I’m sure we’ll revisit sometime soon.

Finally, thank you a million times for everything.’  Our reviewer reports ‘ … how ‘normally’ Kefalonia’ is functioning. As the Wifi was so good at the villa, face book was being updated each day whilst we were there but we’ll certainly continue to spread the word.’

July 2015
‘Just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our all too brief week at Walnut Tree.

The house was perfectly arranged for our group – the early risers were upstairs, which meant that the rest of us were able to enjoy a few more hours of sleep in the morning than we have been used to on family holidays in the past!
The location was perfect for us to head off on sorties across Kefalonia, though we tended to stick to the Sami/Ag. Efimia side, and loved the taverna at Ag. Paraskevi. The water sports at Antisamos were very popular with the kids.
Dinners around the big table were a particular highlight, especially when we all decamped to the sun loungers after pudding for a spot of ouzo inspired star gazing!
It was a week that we will cherish.’

July 2015

‘What a wonderful villa you have and location. It was my first time to Greece and it did not disappoint in any way. Walnut Tree is a marvellous place for families to stay, such space! All age groups well catered for. Home from home.
……….Very nice, peaceful, clean, tidy and everything in working order. Such a change from say South of France or Spain where all villas seem to be cheek by jowl. Sitting outside watching the sun rise was a delight.
Impressed so much so that I am thinking of returning with my daughter & family, who were part of the group, and some more of my family.   A jewel of a holiday, very special. You are  lucky to have such a place in a fabulous part of the world.’

July 2015

‘My wife and I, together with our two young children (aged five and two) have just returned from a fantastic stay at the Walnut Tree and felt it important that we share our experience, since there has been much spoken and written in the media about what is currently happening in Greece.

 
First of all let me start with The Walnut Tree itself. It is lovely. The property is in a stunning location in a quiet corner of a beautiful island yet everything you could need is within easy reach (my waistline is testament to the excellent local bakery). The villa is elegant and very functional with all the amenities you could think of for adults and kids and the pool is wonderful (cleverly designed so that young kids can enjoy it too). 
 
The gardens are a particular highlight with fruit trees, olive groves and fragrant herbs all over the place and BBQs are an evening treat to enjoy in the spectacular surroundings with the local wine or beer! 
 
But, what of Greece? It has gone to hell in a hand basket, right? Well, not on the evidence of our trip to Kefalonia (which is all I can speak to). Yes, we did take cash as per the warnings, but we tried to use it sparingly and every time our cards were presented, they were accepted (we came home with half our Euros!). 
 
I have no point of reference of better times, but I saw no closed businesses, no queues at cash points, no unrest of any sort. Was the crisis on people’s minds? Yes (how could it not be?), but the Greeks were delightful, friendly, welcoming and made our holiday a real treat. If we have any desire to help them out then we shouldn’t stay away, we should continue to visit what is a spectacular and hospitable place.’  June/July 2015
Summer Half Term
‘Villa was lovely, very spacious – perfect for our large family.  Everything you needed was covered.  Pool was fantastic and the kids loved it.  Also details of restaurants etc and any other needs you have were supplied too.  Great location.  Owner and manager were very helpful too. Local beach was great.  Car needed but local man supplies that too.’
May 2015
 ‘A group of ten of us spent seven days at the Walnut Tree villa. It was an unforgettable experience and one which I would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to visit Kefalonia. The Walnut Tree is an ideal villa for large groups as you can divide into two smaller ones which isn’t a bad thing with a large group of people, even if you are good friends! Booking the villa was simple, and Celia was so helpful and informative before we went, with bags of useful information and advice. Nothing was too much trouble for her, and she was so friendly on the phone. We had the added bonus of meeting her before she flew home. Once we arrived, we had every assistance from her on-the-ground crew who couldn’t have been more helpful. The villa is fabulous, large, airy and spacious, and everything has been thought of to make your stay superb.It is also spotlessly clean. It is equipped with everything you need including towels, sun-loungers and two bicycles. It feels like a home, not a holiday let! It is in a beautiful location with stunning views and very quiet – all you hear is the sea breeze and the goat bells! But it is also brilliantly placed to explore the island. It is a short drive (or fast cycle-ride downhill on bikes) from Sami but out of the way enough to feel that you have the utmost privacy. Sami is lovely – a quiet place but with nice restaurants and enough shops to get whatever provisions you need (and no night clubs thank goodness). The locals are friendly and helpful. There are beautiful beaches a short drive away, and it is well worth exploring the island because the scenery is spectacular (even if the driving can test your nerves!). Kefalonia is probably my favourite greek island so far and I have seen quite a few over the years. It is lush and green, with spectacular scenery and beaches, and very unspoilt. An added bonus is that although the temperatures are high, there always seems to be a sea breeze to make the heat bearable. Eating out is very reasonable and the food lovely. Finding this beautiful villa was the icing on the cake!’ May 2014

‘just returned from a family holiday at the walnut tree and have to endorse the previous glowing reports.celia had us all very excited with her up dates and info prior to arrival.we were met by spiros who soon became a friend as well as being able to assist us with any request.there were 12 of us 18 months to 71 and all enjoyed our visit greatly. spent some days relaxing by the lovely pool enjoying the garden and bq. other days action packed cycling ,tennis,horse riding & joining the very friendly locals in greek dancing.we will return!’ July/August 2014

‘We had a fantastic time at the Walnut Grove. The house was modern and neat and had all the appliances one would need on holiday. The villa is exceptional and we spend a lot of time in the lovely pool. We enjoyed the country feel of the villa and the beautiful surroundings. We can definitely recommend the Walnut Grove if you are planning a trip to Kefalonia.’ July 2014

‘We had a wonderful family holiday (eleven of us ranging from 13 to 75), finding everything as described and spotlessly clean. The accommodation, facilities – the table tennis and boules were a big “hit” – and the setting (beautiful garden, barbecue, large terrace and pool) – were excellent and, although very rural, tavernas (5-10 minutes), shops (5 minutes) and beaches (15 minutes) were all within easy drives. Dealing with the owner and local agent was a pleasure: nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend The Walnut Tree.’ August 2014

‘We had the most fantastic holiday – the island and villa were both beautiful . The Walnut Tree is a really special place and we hope to be able to visit again one day. You are very lucky to have such a wonderful retreat. All our group felt the same; our only regret was that we weren’t staying for longer.We had some fantastic meals in Sami and at The Walnut Tree making use of the herbs in the garden and the BBQ.You’ve got everything just right ! We loved it .Thank you.’ 2013

‘As for our holiday, it was absolutely fabulous. Location near Sami is perfect for touring and your villa definitely has the wow factor. We managed fine for space with four adults and two teenage girls upstairs and the rest downstairs. Spyros was incredibly helpful throughout.’

‘The website description was entirely accurate and the photos, if anything, didn’t do this fabulous villa justice. It was a great place for three families to share. We had 12 in all to stay, which is the maximum, but with kids it is perfectly big enough – there are plenty of chairs for all 12 to eat together in the shade on the patio. It sleeps 12 comfortably with separate external staircase for accommodation for 4/5. …….. The communication with Cecilia, the owner, from time of booking through to date of departure was first class and heightened the excitement of the holiday. We would certainly recommend this villa to others – probably best for a couple/three families or big group of friends. It is best to hire a car for the stay as the walk/cycle into town is too far and a bit hilly. Also the island is so beautiful that it needs to be fully discovered by day trips to the likes of Fiskardo, Myrtos Beach and Assos. As the island is quite mountainous the driving needs to be for the confident driver – hairpin bends are in abundance! The island people are all so welcoming and friendly, the food is great – the local town of Sami is lovely and we found the Mermaid and Il Familie restaurants our favourites. Due to the financial situation, cash is king and we did struggle to get credit cards accepted even if the shops/restaurants said that they were accepted, but really this was a minor point – it was a fabulous holiday on a beautiful island in a perfect villa.’ 2013

Lovely villa in a superb location- we are all desperate to return! Set between Sami and Karavomylos the villa could not be better placed. Celia (owner) was happy to answer all our queries, and sent plenty of helpful information. Great to be able to borrow snorkels, beach towels and everything else so thoughtfully provided. Spyros the local agent was very helpful too- patiently showing us where to go and explaining all! He also responded swiftly to our texts when we were out and needing advice- very reassuring as we hadn’t holidayed abroad before. 2013

‘The Walnut Tree is a very special place; it is well equipped, spotlessly clean and in the most beautiful setting. It is extremely private not overlooked by any other property and great for teenagers. The pool provided hours of fun as did the table tennis and boules court. It has everything and more in the kitchens so you could cook properly, indoors and out, making use of the BBQ and outside oven. The garden is full of wonderful herbs and beautiful plants. Sitting around the pool with the candles lit, enjoying the local wine watching the sun go down – heaven! The local town (Sami) is about 8 minutes drive away; it had a really good butcher, bakery and supermarket. The restaurants line the seafront. We went to 3 and were not disappointed. All offered good food at reasonable prices in a lovely location. All the beaches in the area were shingle with beautiful crystal clear water offering superb snorkelling but be prepared take paddling shoes. Antisamos beach had water sports, just a short drive away and the best beach according to our tribe. Cephalonia is the most wonderful island. We would all love to go back one day and would certainly stay at The Walnut Tree.’ 2013

WP_20151104_024WP_20151107_036